“This is us” review

Today I watched the last episode of the family drama “this is us” and I’d love to share my impression about what I consider the tv show of the year .
I’m not really keen on family dramas : the only ones I’ve ever watched are “Gilmore Girls” and “Everwood” (both of them part of my childhood) but this one really impressed me .
I have to admit I first started it just because I have a huge crush for Milo Ventimiglia but I ended loving every character and every SINGLE episode.
This show is great in many ways : because it deals with themes to which everyone can easily relate ,the cast is amazing (from the young actors performing the young “big trees” to Milo,Mandy Moore and Justin Hartley.. I loved him since Smallville when he portrayed Oliver Queen!)and the soundtrack includes tracks from the ‘90s and some indie-folk songs that perfectly fits with the tv show (I might include a playlist below) .
There are no lacks in “This is us” , no “filling characters” every single scene is the product or simply the reflection of the past : each episode usually starts with a fragment of the past and then shifts to the present showing how Rebecca and Jack’s teaching shaped “the Big Three” ‘s lives.
My favourite character is definitely Randall ! He’s a well-developed character with his humour but also weaknesses : I relate to him a lot especially about the anxiety he feels regarding other people’s expectations and his own that makes him pushing harder and overcome his physical and psychological limits .
Anyone reading I strongly recommend This is Us . Why? It’s the living proof that a tv show doesn’t need special effects or to deal with supernatural themes to be interesting ,the authenticity of this modern drama ,how joy but also anger is portrayed hits everyone from the bottom of our soul awakening something hidden .
This is us playlist

Questo slideshow richiede JavaScript.


Death with dignity – Sufjans Stevens
-this song was featured in the very first scene with the parallel past and present when the viewer gets familiar with the characters and in the one of the last episode when Jack half drunk decides to drive where Rebecca is singing … “but every road leads to an end”..  I love this song because it kinda sums the fact that Jack is going to die so that “we all know how this will end” but we cannot avoid watching the show lol

-Time After Time (originally by Cindy Lauper but covered by Chrissy Metz)

-Blues Run The Game  – Jackson C. Frank
-this song was featured in the scene where William’s youth is revealed , where we find out about how he met Randall’s mother

-We Can Always Come Back To This – Bryan Tyree

Lascia un commento