Movies based on true stories #1 “Lion”

So I don’t know why it took me so long to watch it but I finally managed to watch “Lion”  and it definitely goes to “my favourite movie list”. I’m planning to watch all the movies in which the soundtrack is composed by Dustin O’Halloran because his melodies are soft but effective at the same way ,in this movie he kinda remembered me Arcade Fire’s soundtrack for the movie “Her” …and it’s ..perfect! In second place the cast is brilliant , I mean you got Nicole Kidman , Rooney Mara (loved her since “Her” : I think she’s the kind of elegant and pure beauty) and Dev Patel : so I first saw him in the british serie Skins and then in “The Millionaire” (another good movie) , it’s simply incredible how he’s acting skills . improved so much , I mean from portraying the Indian silly teenager in Skins to being nominated for an Academy Award ! Also the young actors who portrayed Guddu and Saroo are incredibly talented (no spoilers but the last scene just bursted me in tears)

But focusing on the movies it’s just wonderful! Since I love India the music ,the mesmerizing scenery and the endless uplands made their job but anyway the movie also takes place in Australia , in marvelous location such as Tasmania !
The strenghts of “Lion” are many : surely I enjoy how every character is developed , Saroo a smart boy in his twenties who was adopted by an Australian couple when he was a child apparently as everything in his life , but as in James Joyce’s novels a flavour of an Indian typical dish awakes his deepest and most hidden memory : his roots , his family and from that moment on he tries to cling to his most remote memory and find out about his mother and siblings . I loved how he wandered in his dreams and fantasies trying to catch even the smallest detail that could help him in his search  how the burden of this loss prevent him to keep living his life.  Definitely a worth watching movie .

Here’s a little playlist

1) Salma Agha – Come Closer (a catchy song where traditional indian music is combined with 80’s dance melodies, it was played in Noora’s house when Saroo starts questioning her “good intentions”

2) A Winged Victory For The Sullen  – Atomos VII (used as background music during Saroo’s wanderings in his lost childhood)

3)Enigma – The Rivers Of Belief

4) Hercules and Love Affair – Blind (played during a party , loved it)

Lascia un commento