Final consideration on “Sense 8”

I’ve been hearing about this tv show for a long time back in 2017 .Everyone were literally obsessed with it and I remember the media hype when Netflix decided to cancel it.
As soon as I discovered that fans managed to get a finale through petitions I thought :” It should be good …”.

Finally while I was in Erasmus in France (back to 2018) one day I decided to start it (instead of going party omg) and I finished only yesterday …

“Sense 8” was an “up and down” of emotions : I remembered watching the pilot and being frustrated for its duration ! (yes I’m more of a 30 minute ep kind of gal) .. At the same time I was intrigued by the connections between this heterogenous group of seven .

Slowly I kept watching and finally the “click” happened with that “iconic scene” brilliantly featuring “What’s Up” !
This song has been one of my favourite for ages and seeing all of them being present and distant at the same time , singing along this masterpiece was unexplainable !
Rethinking about the series I watched this is surely one of the most brilliant “musical scene” I’ve ever watched alongside with “Wild World” for the finale of Skins season one .

Cannot lie , there are some points I didn’t understand as the role of Jonas and others sensates but that was probably because sometimes I kept watching even If I was a little bit distracted …

But what I realized after finishing the 2 hour and a half finale is that I grew deep and sincere attachment to every character ; I started feeling part of the group …

Probably is this period of uncertainty we’re living in but watching “Sense 8” in the midst of the pandemic gave me a sense of relief : it was like travelling for real ; getting to know a bit about Sun’s Korea or Kala’s India and so on …

Anyway in my opinion when a novel or movie deals with so many characters I think it’s quite challenging to give every one the fair amount of screen time ; the same applies to the several themes approached by screenwriters : sometimes I had the feeling that they tried too much to squeeze all the possible evils of the society but at the same time never really get an insight of each of them .

This doesn’t change the love I feel for the series : Sense 8 is about inclusivity and strong connection overcoming physical boundaries it was a blast and forever be a great comfort serie for me .

One of my fav scene was when Sun had her period and each Sensate got to experience in his/her own way this discomfort : that was an epic sequence that I will never forget!

ps: kinda wrote this review in a rush , it took me sometime because I started during my exam session and I had to study so… don’t take it too seriously

2 risposte a "Final consideration on “Sense 8”"

  1. I totally agree with you!

    The Wachowski sisters talk about the themes (of course) most dear to them, such as freedom of thought, identity, and sexuality… the key points around which our singular personality develops.

    Unfortunately, today, society tries to push us towards homologation to the so-called “normal” rather than embrace our individuality and be really happy.

    I was delighted that the two directors were able to realize the ending. I had believed that it would be just one of the many deleted series for a particular moment.

    Instead, I loved the long double final episode! Sense 8 is a series with phenomenal directing and editing, cinematic and not television crafting, which you don’t see every day in a tv show…

    I don’t want to give votes because I don’t like to do it, and I never do it on my blog… I simply recommend the vision to all those who have an open mind and a free heart!

    "Mi piace"

Lascia un commento